Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’re Intimidated By

Hello fellow readers! I hope that everyone’s week is treating them well so far. This week’s #T5W topic is “Books You’re Intimidated By” and I’m very pumped for this topic! If you would like to join in on T5W please feel free to check out or Goodreads group. Without further ado let us carry on with the intimidating reads!

Outlander-blue-cover-198x300

1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This book truly scares me. I’ve heard the most amazing things about the series and the TV show (not to mention I own books 1-3) but I have yet to pick it up! The story follows a young nurse named Claire as she is transported from 1945 all the way back to 1743 Scotland. Sasha over on YouTube (abookutopia) always rave about this book series so I think it is time for me to jump on board.

Game_of_thrones

2. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I’ve got mixed feelings about this one. Part of me really wants to dive head first into the world that George R.R. Martin has created but a larger part of me is afraid to devote all the hours it would take to read this. This book is classified as epic fantasy with some amazing scenes and fantastic writing. It follows the Stark family as they go through all the troubles of having a Court. We shall see if I pick this one up in the future!

23395680

3. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I believe what intimidates me most about this novel is the format of it. It looks really intriguing (and also stunning on my shelves) and is unique in the sense of it formatting. The story is all about the year 2575 being invaded. Two large corporations are going to war over the planet and two teenagers are forced to go into space to survive. Throw in a plague that has broken out and the survivors will truly be tested. This book looks so fun and I really hope to start it soon.

13638125

4. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

So many people love this book! I purchased my copy a while back and so far it has just been collecting dust on my book shelf. This book has everything I love: supernatural element, two archnemeses, and the desire to get revenge. Even as I type I ask myself “why haven’t you picked this up yet Sam?” Reading this would be my first V.E. Schwab and I heard she’s amazing so I just need to put the fear aside and pick it up.

6547258._UY200_

5. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

I have never read a Brandon Sanderson book and I hope that this will be my first read!! The sheer size of this book is enough the put the claws of fear on my back but I’ve heard SOOOOO many amazing things that I just might shake that fear pest off my back. Time is also an intimidating factor since this book is so large. But again this novel has everything that calls to me!


As scary as all of these books are I hope to read them as soon as I can! They all seem so amazing despite everything and the excitement is there! I hope that you all have an amazing rest of the week and read some great things! -Samantha 🙂

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’re Intimidated By

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post: 4/24/16 | Surrounded by Books

Leave a Reply

