Top 5 Wednesday: Book Theme Songs

Hello fellow readers! Happy 1st of June! For today’s #T5W we will be chatting about book theme songs. I am definitely one to listen to music when I read sometimes, especially if I find a song that fits perfectly.

If you would like to join in on T5W please feel free to check out our Goodreads group. Without further ado let us get on with the book theme songs!

-Samantha 🙂

1. Fast Car – Jonas Blue

This song came on shuffle when I was reading The Diviners by Libba Bray and for some reason it stuck! I think the upbeat background music really elevated the characters and their actions.

2. You Don’t Own Me – Grace feat. G-Eazy

A twist on a classic song! I listened to this song while reading The Summer Garden by Paullina Simons and it was perfect!! The chorus line “you don’t own me” really went along with Tatiana when she grew into her strength and started to not take anyone’s stuff!

3. Not About Dying – Prom

I discovered this song on Spotify and I’m sooooo happy that I did. This song played in the background while reading Fueled by K. Bromberg. The lyrics paired beautifully with the book and it’s an amazing song.

4. Let Me Touch Your Fire – Arizona 

Again, this song played in the background while I read Sempre by J.M. Darhower. It was a darker book with a lot of emotion and the ending verse of this song followed along with the softer emotions the characters felt.

5. Wait – M83

I’ve never cried harder to a book while listening to this song! I’ve no idea why either. Wait played while I was reading The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons (if you’ve been following me for a while you know the love I have for this book and how much I cried over it) and all I can say is wow. The music and small amount of lyrics amped up the feels!!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Book Theme Songs

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post:6/5/16 | Surrounded by Books

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Videos/Posts | Surrounded by Books

Leave a Reply

