Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Hello fellow readers! I hope that you are doing well and that your week has been kind to you. For today’s #T5W topic we will be discussing our favorite books that lay just outside our comfort zone.

If you would like to join in on T5W please feel free to check out our Goodreads group. Without further ado let us step outside the comfort zone and tread into the abyss.

-Samantha 🙂

11607

1. The Running Man: Stephen King

It is so very rare when I pick up a science-fiction/horror book and one day this one happened to fall into my hands. I loved this book so much and it is an all time favorite of mine, especially since the experience I had with the people I was reading it was amazing.

4667024

2. The Help: Kathryn Stockett

I’m sneaking this book in because when I read it many years ago it was out of my comfort zone. I had never read historical fiction before and this was the first novel I had picked up. What an amazing read!! I highly recommend this stellar novel with strong characters that jump off the pages.

OfMiceAndMen

3. Of Mice and Men: John Steinbeck

Reading classic’s is so far out of my comfort zone I feel like I am wondering around a new world. In this case I was asked to read this novel as a summer reading assignment back in my freshman year of school and I grew attached quickly to the characters. I have since re-read the novel three times through high school, picking up more feelings each time.

Saga_vol1-1

4. Saga: Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

I have just recently read volumes one through three of Saga and my mind was blown. I have never envisioned myself picking up a graphic novel and devouring it in one sitting. I just might be sneaking these into my comfort zone.

17662382

5. Seeds Volume One: M.M. Kin

This novel is all about greek mythology and it is amazing!!! I never saw myself picking it up but after reading reviews and finding out that it was the tale of Hades and Persephone I decided to give it a try and I’m glad I did. It was interesting and intriguing all in one.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

  1. I don’t read much historical fiction, but I loved The Help! I might have stayed up until 4 a.m. because I couldn’t go to sleep without finding out what Minny’s “terrible awful” was. If you like Persephone stories check out The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, which draws on Indian mythology, and has really beautiful writing and a smart-mouthed demon horse.
    Here’s my list! https://bookfreakout.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/t5w-a-lack-of-comforts/#more-5045

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

