This or That? #54

Hello fellow readers and happy Tuesday! I am back again to share my thoughts on this week’s This or That? topic. This week’s topic is a great one!

For those who don’t know This or That is created by Rae over at bookmarkcronicles. Every week a bookish question is tossed out there and a choice must be made! On Fridays the topic choice winner is announced. Please head on over to her awesome blog and share some bookish love!


This Week’s Topic:

Do you think that some books should have trigger warnings?

Aside from yes or no I will allow a third option in which you can say that you are on the fence or unsure about it only if you provide a reasonable explanation.


I really do think that trigger warning should be provided for readers for certain books. Reading something that could traumatize someone should be warned!

I do not believe that putting a trigger warning spoils the book. I think that it forewarns what the book is going to be covering. If I knew that something was going to upset me greatly or cause me mental harm I would appreciate the warning before hand. A warning that doesn’t spoil the book but sheds just enough light on the topic/topics that are being covered is a must in my opinion.

As Rae said in her post, people read for enjoyment. No one should have to go through trauma while trying to read a book. Reading is a means of escape for some people and that escape and enjoyment should not be tampered with.

Adding a trigger warning isn’t ruining a novel, it isn’t taking away from the plot line, it is helping someone out. I think it’s pretty important to remember that.

What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below. I hope you all had a great Tuesday and are doing well!

-Samantha 🙂

One thought on “This or That? #54

  1. Pingback: This or That? #54 (Conclusion) | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

